Zero 7

← Back to the Portfolio

Zero 7 have shared the title track of their soon-to-be-released ‘Shadows’ EP, the acclaimed British duo’s first collection in more than half a decade. ‘Shadows’ sees Zero 7 – Henry Binns and Sam Hardaker – teaming with acclaimed new singer-songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Lou Stone for a spellbinding collaboration fusing the duo’s long-standing gift for soulful songcraft, lush arrangements, and inventive production with the London-based Stone’s standout vocal delivery.

The news of the EP release is heralded by today’s premiere of the brilliant title track, ‘Shadows’, available now at all DSPs and streaming services; the track is joined by an official companion video, directed by renowned graphic designer/filmmaker Julian House (whose work includes the cover to Zero 7’s classic 2001 debut album, ‘Simple Things’) and streaming now via YouTube. ‘Shadows’ EP will be released via Make / BMG on October 16.

“We’ve gone back to the future with Lou Stone,” say Zero 7. “This song is a lockdown talk between lonely souls and shadows…Remote reciprocity….”

Zero 7 are of course acclaimed worldwide for their distinctive brand of emotionally evocative electronic pop, spanning four remarkable albums – including 2006’s GRAMMY® Award-nominated ‘The Garden’ – along with three EPs, countless remixes, and visionary collaborations with such diverse artists as Sia, José Gonzalez, and Martha Tilston, to name but a few. ‘Shadows’ follows a series of recent singles, including 2018’s ‘Mono (Feat. Hidden)’ and ‘Aurora’ – the latter marking Zero 7’s latest collaboration with longtime creative partner José González – and most recently, last year’s ‘Swimmers’, featuring vocals by rising UK-based singer-songwriter Jem Cooke. The duo recently unveiled an exclusive Zero 7: The Essentials playlist, featuring all of the aforementioned singles alongside such legendary hits as ‘Destiny’, ‘In The Waiting Line’, ‘Somersault’, and much more, have also been re-issuing their back catalogue on heavy weight vinyl with exclusive bonus tracks and remixes.