Slow Club

← Back to the Portfolio

Slow Club today announce details of their fourth full-length album, One Day All Of This Won’t Matter Anymore’, and premiere the video for the record’s lead single ‘Ancient Rolling Sea’, directed by long term collaborator Piers Dennis. One Day All Of This Won’t Matter Anymore’ is due for release on 19 August via Moshi Moshi Records.

How do you keep a band interesting after ten years? It’s a question Slow Club’s Charles Watson and Rebecca Taylor must have asked themselves as they started work on their fourth album. From the cute indie-folk of their 2009 debut Yeah So’, to the wonky-pop of its follow up ‘Paradise’, two years later, to the sophisticated, polished soul of 2014’s Complete Surrender’, this is a band that have never stood still, going out of their way to present a new version of themselves on every release, while maintaining the spirit, the warmth and the chemistry that has marked their music since they formed in 2006.

Yet Slow Club 2016 are a very different proposition to the indie duo of a decade ago, who carried makeshift percussion rigs around their native Sheffield in parents’ cars, sang everything in close harmony and wrote from a shared perspective. The pair live in different parts of the country now, and work in very different ways. Charles is in London. Rebecca lives in Margate, throwing herself into the artistic community there. Charles writes obliquely, using short stories and found narratives to transmit his ideas, while Rebecca’s lyrics are starker and more personal, channelling her heartbreak and happiness in a very direct way. How do you bring two distinct styles, two distinct lives, back together and make them feel like the same band?

The answer seems to be producer Matthew E. White, the master of Southern-gothic folk, whose in-house band at Richmond’s Spacebomb Studios provided the consistency and tone the album required. On previous records the duo would play most of the instruments themselves, aided by occasional friends. Here they handed their songs to Spacebomb’s core unit: guitarist Alan Parker, drummer Pinson Chanselle, bassist Cameron Ralston and keyboard player Daniel Clarke, encouraging them to develop their parts and help arrange the music. Almost every track was played live in the studio, allowing the long-established session band’s natural chemistry to augment Charles and Rebecca’s, with the double advantage of recording being very effective, and also comparatively quick.

“It desperately needed that.” says Rebecca, “We weren’t as on the same page about what we wanted this time, we were sort-of blindly going into it. We needed someone to come in and take control. Going in there with those guys leant itself to that. It was perfect.”

Wistfulness and acceptance are very much themes here. On ‘Come On Poet’, a clear highlight, Rebecca, giving one of her best-ever vocal performances, sings about “a chronic impatience, sufferer waiting for time to heal… Babies taking their lead from elders who still don’t know anything,” while Charles’s ‘Silver Morning’ is about “a guy who won once and lost it all”.

If all of this seems a little introspective, at their heart Slow Club are still a pop band and One Day…’ contains some of the best melodies they’ve yet created. The duo’s knack for writing hooks and melody has, if anything, become stronger. There are choruses here you instantly feel you’ve known your whole life, like the timeless, reassuring refrain of “I’ll always be by your side” in ‘Ancient Rolling Sea’, or the Dolly Parton via-Linda Ronstadt anthem of self-celebration through the darkest times that is ‘Champion’. Perhaps best of all are a pair of songs to be found at the top of what traditionalists would call “side 2”- ‘Rebecca Casanova’, a slice of widescreen, four-to-the-floor pop that recalls soft-rock giants Fleetwood Mac in the way it channels heartbreak onto the dancefloor, and ‘Tattoo Of The King’, a Charles Watson tale that takes Neil Young and the Doobie Brothers to the disco. Neither sound like anything Slow Club have done before, while still somehow sounding like Slow Club always have. And if that seems like a contradiction, like two ideas saying something different but working together, well that’s Slow Club 2016 through and through.

Slow Club’s fourth album One Day All Of This Won’t Matter Anymore’ is due for release on 19 August, 2016 via Moshi Moshi.

Track List:

  1. Where the Light Gets Lost
  2. Ancient Rolling Sea
  3. In Waves
  4. Silver Morning
  5. Come on Poet
  6. Sweetest Grape on the Vine
  7. Give Me Some Peace
  8. Rebecca Cassanova
  9. Tattoo of The King
  10. The Jinx
  11. Champion
  12. Let The Blade Do The Work
slow club website